A sidney prize is an award given to people who have made significant contributions to society, whether in the field of science or arts. The awards serve to recognize their efforts and to inspire others. There are many different types of prizes that can be won, and each one comes with its own requirements and criteria.

Some of the more prominent sidney prizes are affixed to writers and journalists who have written about issues that impact public life. For example, the SS Sydney prize honors undergraduate writing that most closely resembles the high standards of originality and integrity set by the late English professor Sidney Cox. The prize is awarded each May at the Creative Writing Awards ceremony. Those who wish to be considered for the scholarship should submit their work before the deadline.

Other sidney prizes are affixed by individual colleges and universities, such as the AAPT Sydney prize which honors undergraduate research in the physical sciences. This is one of the most prestigious awards in its category, and it is often viewed as the pinnacle of undergraduate achievement in the field. This year, the winner was a student who wrote an essay that showed great intellectual curiosity and excellent writing skills. The AAPT also has several other prizes that honor student achievements, including the Neilma Sydney prize which honors short stories about travel.

In addition to the aforementioned prizes, the sidney prize also honors scientists and engineers. In fact, the physics department of the University of Sydney has an entire section dedicated to these awards. Each year, students are honored for their outstanding work. Among the most recent winners was a student who won a sidney prize for her paper on sexism in academia.

The sidney prize has been awarded to several activists, scientists and journalists who have pushed for civil rights, freedom of speech and other political causes. The 2023 winner was Iranian-born actress Nazanin Boniadi, who was recognized for her commitment to women’s rights in her home country. Other past winners have included Ta-Nehisi Coates and Amanda Hess for their pieces on online sexism.

Another important sidney prize is the AJP Sydney Prize, which is given to a book that contributes to the social, cultural or humanistic dimension of physics. This award is named after the physicist and author Sydney Perkowitz, who helped bridge the gap between the world of physics and the culture of art and literature. Perkowitz wrote books, essays and public lectures that sought to connect physics with the arts.

This year, the Overland Neilma Sydney Prize was supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation. Overland will publish the winning story in its autumn 2024 issue, with the two runners-up stories appearing online. The judges and the foundation are thrilled to have been able to support these talented young writers. We look forward to welcoming them into the Overland family.