The Sidney Prize and the Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize

The Sydney Prize recognizes the achievements of graduate students in their pursuit of scholarship that contributes to understanding humanity. It is intended to encourage scholarly research in a broad range of areas, including but not limited to anthropology, history, music, literature and more. The prize is awarded to a student based on the quality of their work, financial need and the potential impact of the study. The award is named in memory of Sydney Cox, a Dartmouth professor and author of the famous book “The Road to Wisdom”.

This year’s winner of the Sydney Peace Prize is Black Lives Matter – the human rights movement founded by US activists Patrisse Cullors, Alicia Garza and Opal Tometi after the George Zimmerman murder case. It promotes the idea that people of all races and cultures can find common ground to foster peace with justice.

Awarded annually, the Sidney J. Levy Memorial Prize honours one of the founders of Consumer Culture Theory. This competition is open to authors of dissertation-based articles in CCT and related theoretical areas. The prize is accompanied by a cash award of $1500.

The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is a great opportunity for young writers to get their works published. It is sponsored by Overland magazine and Malcolm Robertson Foundation, with the winner receiving $5000 in prize money and publication both online and in the summer 2023 issue of Overland. The contest is open to anyone and entries must be submitted by the last day of each month – winning stories are announced each Wednesday.

In the February Sidney Prize, Fred Clasen-Kelly and Carol Motsinger won for uncovering the hidden toll of Greenville’s celebrated urban renewal project on the city’s black community. Their deeply reported piece examined a history of neglect, betrayal and broken promises that is at the root of inequality in our country.

Each year the National Association of Scholars honours one individual whose work promotes the ideas of academic freedom, the integrity of scholarship and civil discourse. The prize is named for a former president of the organization, who believed in fighting for these values.

The Sidney Hillman Foundation has been recognizing outstanding investigative journalism since 1950. The US-based Hillman Prizes and Canadian Hillman Prize have been given to journalists whose work seeks out and tells compelling stories in service of the common good. The prize is open to books, newspaper and magazine work that demonstrates reporting and storytelling skills and social justice impact. The winners are honoured at a ceremony in New York each April. The Foundation also awards the Neilma Hillman prize to young writers in recognition of their commitment to investigative journalism. To see a list of past winners, click here. The application deadline is the last day of each month and submissions can be made for either an individual or a team. Submissions are judged on their quality and impact, not the quantity of material covered.